A HUGE announcement! And taking my life on a whole new Journey!

If you follow me on Instagram, then you probably already know this, but I reached a huge dream of mine yesterday. Something that I’ve been working toward and hoping for for years. I got an email. THE email. This email:

TFA Acceptance

Tears and tears of joy!

A new job, a new city, a new adventure. I am SO excited to be moving on to this stage in my life and could not be happier with my placement. I wanted so badly to be placed in special education and have been lucky enough to be placed in Chicago, a city I’ve never been, but after traveling this much, I’m an old pro at making a new life for myself. Plus, the boy will be moving there this summer for a job so I know the transition will be easier with the both of us there! 

While I can acknowledge the shortcomings and controversy surrounding Teach for America, I know that this program will allow me to follow my passion and make a difference in the best way that I can. I will be earning my Master’s degree at the same time, and I know it will be a lot of work but I am more than ready for it. I really feel that TFA will allow me to become the best teacher that I can be.

For now, I have 3 months to tie up loose ends here before I make my move (my THIRD cross country move in the past year!) I need to be saving money, preparing myself mentally, taking certification tests for Illinois, and reading up about everything I will need to know before I start summer training.

I still feel like it’s all a little bit surreal, but I’m slowly coming to terms with everything. I’m beyond excited and blessed to be able to do this. This also means there will be some changes to this blog over the coming months, but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it!

Thanks for all your support through this process and as I make this transition into yet another job and city!

6 thoughts on “A HUGE announcement! And taking my life on a whole new Journey!

  1. Pingback: A Year in Review | That government girl

  2. Pingback: Weekly Wishes! | The Journey

  3. Thats so great. At one point I was going to sign up for that program but decided against it. I wish you lots of luck. I’ve been to Chicago several times and it can be a great place to live.

    Like

Leave a Reply

