Zeal and Zest and the Definition of Success

success

What does success look like? Is it a white picket fence on a 2 story house? Is it a penthouse suite of a high rise with plenty of money to spend around the city? For many, I think the automatic definition of success means a high up position, a job with plenty of money coming in, and having lots of things. ThingsHowever, I don’t buy the line of thinking that money= happiness and success. I believe that there are plenty of people in the world that are considered successful by society at large because of their financial status, but that’s not the kind of success I would ever want for myself.

I will feel successful if I have a job that I can love and feel passionate about.  I will feel successful if I feel I am making a difference in this world with my work and what I put into it. A job I can feel both zeal and zest for. I will feel successful if I am able to get married and have children in the future and raise a family with respect for each other and strong values.

This is part of my own definition of success. I won’t feel successful even if I make a million dollars if I don’t have those things. Things that aren’t tangible, but that I can feel and need and be happy and passionate about.

Alisha posted yesterday about her definition of success, and I definitely wanted to share my 2 cents on the subject too. I loved the way she put her definition of success into words, and it surprised me that although both of our visions of what we want to do in life are so different, our definitions of success are so similar. We both want to feel genuinely happy and do what we are passionate about.

What does success mean to you? What does that look like?

 

Today’s words were zest and zeal. Zest is a vigorous and enthusiastic enjoyment, zeal is a feeling of strong eagerness (usually in favor of a person or cause). Today is also the last day of blogging in April from A to Z! It’s been a fun month, coming up with ways to incorporate the letter of the day, even if I didn’t blog every day, it still kept me motivated to try!

3 thoughts on “Zeal and Zest and the Definition of Success

  1. Pingback: You know it’s busy when… | The Journey

  2. I feel the same way about success. I don’t think it’s about how much money I have so much, but money does play a factor. I definitely do not want to ever worry about money and how I’m going to pay the bills, but as long as I make enough to cover the basics and possibly at least one nice trip a year, I would be happy. 🙂

    I think the idea of success has been changing over the decades. I think now more than ever… people are starting to think more outside the American dream and a lot more people want to give back and make a better world outside of their immediate families.

    Like

Leave a Reply

