13 things I’ve learned from International Travel | Travel Tuesday

Sometimes you just need to channel James Bond at the Eiffel Tower

Sometimes you just need to channel James Bond at the Eiffel Tower

After traveling around for a bit, you tend to learn a thing or two about this world of ours. It’s a beautiful thing to be able to travel and learn and grow and become who you really are.

For those of you who are new to this space, I began traveling when I was about 12, first with a short trip of a few weeks to Mexico. After that, I was hooked. Read more about my travels here.

I’ve decided for today’s Travel Tuesday post I’m going to share my top 13 things I’ve learned from International Travel.

1. There’s a difference between travelers and tourists. Tourists are there for the pictures and the attractions. Travelers are there for the experience and to learn. That doesn’t mean that travelers don’t have their tourist moments, of course.

2. Moving slower and taking things down a notch won’t negatively impact you, or your work. Working faster does not always mean working better. It’s ok to slow life down a little.

Beach

3. Most people in the world are basically kind. In every country. It’s not difficult to find a nice person anywhere in the world.

4. Other countries don’t hate America. Or Americans. They probably don’t care. And no, you don’t have to tell them you’re from Canada.

5. Mean people are generally unhappy. Happy people are kind.

6. You don’t actually need a 50 pound suitcase. Travel backpacks are the best. “Things” and 30 changes of clothes are entirely overrated. A few staple items can go a long way.

7. Homesickness is ok sometimes. It happens. Your heart will get spread all over the world as you travel, and sometimes the place you feel homesick for the most won’t be where you came from.

8. Flexibility when it comes to plans and hand signals will get you a lot further than a set itinerary and not attempting to communicate with someone because of their language

9. Learn more languages. At least learn a few phrases in the language of the place you are spending time in.

10. An open mind goes further than an open wallet.

11. Don’t be afraid to go it alone. Solo travel will allow you to have complete spontaneity with your plans and learn a lot about yourself. I could write a post all in itself about this point. In fact, maybe I will.

Equator

12. You are capable of so much more than you think. Little by little, push yourself out of your comfort zone.

13. “This too shall pass” is one of the best pieces of advice I’ve ever received. As bad as things may seem, or as grand as they may seem, they will pass. You will get through. Always. Be grateful for the good times.

Sayali

2008 and 2011. Your friends will be there through growth and change.

 

 

9 thoughts on “13 things I’ve learned from International Travel | Travel Tuesday

  1. Pingback: The Taj Mahal » Route Bliss

  2. My sister is a flight attendant, and anytime we travel she does so many of things on your list. I’m jealous at the ease in which she can travel. I’m a nervous nelly. I’ll have to remember some of these tips.

    Like

  3. Yes! If everyone had the opportunity to travel from a young age I’m sure we’d have less hate and misunderstanding about other cultures. Travel has made me a better person, and I can’t wait to be able to do some international travel with my daughter. We’re snowbirds so we live in both the US and Canada, but I don’t think that really counts.
    I got here via the Saturday Sharefest and followed you on twitter. Have a terrific weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

